Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences (PES)

The Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, formerly known as the Department of Forest Resource Management was established in 1995. In 1996, the first student intake was enrolled for the Bachelor of Science Degree in Forestry. Degree programmes offered in the Department are focus on building capacity that can ensure sustainable utilization, management and conservation of forests, water, environmental and agricultural resources amidst climate change. The Department is renowned for its focus on forestry, sustainable agriculture and sustainable natural resources management and climate change.

Department of Zoology and Aquatic Sciences (ZAS)

The Department of Zoology and Aquatic Sciences (ZAS) was established in 2009 in the School of Natural Resources. Our degree programmes emphasises the importance of Zambian wildlife and the challenges involved in conserving it. The Department is known nationally and internationally for its focus on animal biology and ecology for both terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems.

Department of Biomaterials Science and Technology (BST)

The Department of Biomaterial Sciences and Technology has been offering undergraduate education since 2003. Currently the Department offers a Bachelor of Science in Wood science and technology. This degree programme was reviewed in 2007 and 2014 in line with the University Strategic Plan 2014-2018 and, to be in tandem with forest industries and business, to this extent the Department works very closely with commerce and industry.