Linkages & Partnerships

As the top School of Engineering in Zambia we engage a lot with industry through collaborative work. We have an impressive record of working with the mines, utility companies, SMEs, and global multi-national businesses.

Our linkages are propped by our ethos to gain a deep understanding of your business so that we can maximise the quality of services to provide to you. This allows us to respond to your individual needs – engaging with you for the long term to develop a partnership of mutual benefit.

Our corporate linkages and partnerships include:

  • Opportunities to network with senior management responsible for specialist deliverables;
  • Opportunities to engage into an interdisciplinary innovation studies;
  • Access to the unique specialist research facilities, knowledge and know-how.

Our Corporate Partners utilise our strengths across many disciplines in engineering. Like any good relationship, our partnerships require a certain level of commitment. But the rewards are fulfilling, quantifiable and have long-term benefits. Some of the partners include


The School Advisory Board comprises industrialists from companies and institutions with association with the School of Engineering through a history of providing student employment, placements and projects, involvement with collaborative research or consultancy of specific industrial relevance to the School and those with keen interest in the development of the right human resource necessary for the development of the Zambian economy.

While we constantly strive to keep our course-curricula up-to-date, we recognise the unique opportunity that the School of Engineering Advisory Board can offer in giving us real industrial input into our programmes. The Board assists in commenting on and helping in improving course provision and content, which in turn will assist students to acquire skills that are more relevant to the job market.

The Advisory Board consists of the following members from the industry, the Heads of Department in the School of Engineering and other members of the Copperbelt University staff and students:

Ministry of Transport, Works, Supply and CommunicationRepresentation
National Council for ConstructionChief Executive Officer
Copperbelt Energy CorporationDirector of Operations
AirtelChief Executive Officer
Konkola Copper MinesGeneral manager
Chambeshi Metals PlcGeneral Manager
ZamtelManaging Director
Zambia ArmyDirector Technical Services
ZescoManaging Director
National Science & Technology CouncilDirector
Education Partnership for AfricaCo-Director
Copperbelt UniversityDean and Head of departments

The Board of Studies is the governing body of the School of engineering. It is charged with the responsibility of advising the university senate on all academic and related matters concerning the School’s programmes and regulations.

The membership of the BOARD is as follows :

  1. The Dean of the School (Chairman)
  2. The Assistant Dean
  3. All Full-Time Academic Members of the School
  4. All Staff Development Fellows in the School
  5. One Representative from the School of Business
  6. One Representative from the School of Built Environment
  7. One Representative from the School of Natural Resources
  8. One Representative from the School of Maths & Natural Sciences
  9. One Representative from the Directorate of Distance Education and Open Learning
  10. The Librarian
  11. The Dean of Students
  12. The Deputy Registrar (Academic)
  13. Three Representatives from Industry
  14. Three Student Representatives
  15. The Administrative Assistant to the Dean (Secretary)

Board of Examiners is the body, which reviews all matters relating to examinations within the School and makes recommendations to the Senate Examinations Committee. Members of the board consist of the External Examiners and all internal examiners.

Department Boards are established to look into the running of the academic matters in the respective departments. They comprise all academic staff in those departments of the School, the external examiner, four student representatives from year 2, 3, 4, and 5 respectively. These Boards are answerable to the Board of Studies.