The Computer Science department was established in 1995. The department was initially housed in the then School of Technology until 2009 when the School was split into two Schools. The Department could not fit in the two created schools and was placed in the School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences. The department begun with one program (BSc in Computer Science) and later on in 2003, introduced a diploma programme in IT. Currently the department is running a total of Seven (7) programs, One (1) Diploma programme, Four (4) Degree programs and Two (2) Masters programs (history)


Our mission as a school of ICT is to create and disseminate knowledge, to build a well-trained cadre of Computer Scientists, Information Technologists, Computer Engineers and ICT teachers who shall actively participate in the development ICTs locally and abroad, and to engage in research aimed at providing solutions to the Zambian community and beyond.