About  Us


The School of Mines and Mineral Sciences was created on 1st September 2010 in the second phase of the restructuring of schools by way of reorganizing Departments in the former School of Technology. The decision to reorganize schools in the University followed the Senate decision of 24th April 2008 on the restructuring of Schools in the University. The main objective of the school is to promote training in Mining, Metallurgy, Chemical, Environmental, Surveying, Geology and Geomatics Engineering to meet the needs of the mining and other industries. The school encourages its faculty to vigorously engage in research in Sustainable Mining practices, Mineral Processing, Safety, Materials Science, Health and Environment, and balancing economics and Environmental Sustainability and enhance the publication profile of the School and the University at large. The ultimate goals are to increase collaboration with other institutions and also where practicable to commercialize some research and innovation outputs, thus feeding into the main goals of the University.

The School is composed of five Departments and one unit: Chemical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Metallurgy, Mining Engineering, Geology and Survey, and Analytical Services Unit respectively. The objective of Analytical Services Unit is to coordinate all the activities in the School related to the analysis of samples of various kinds. The unit is also responsible for the maintenance and procurement of analytical equipment. The major pieces of equipment for sample analysis are; Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM), Atomic Absorption Spectrophotometer (AAS), Gas Chromatography (GC) and Melting Furnaces.


The School offers the following programmes:

  • Bachelor of Engineering in Chemical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Environmental Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Geomatics Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Metallurgical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Engineering in Mining Engineering
  • Bachelor of Science in Mining & Exploration Geology
  • Diploma in Chemical Technology
  • Diploma in Environmental Technology
  • Diploma in Metallurgy
  • Diploma in Mine Ventilation
  • Diploma in Mining Engineering
  • Diploma in Surveying

In light of the current and envisaged future changes in economic and technological requirements, the programmes offered in the School of Mines and Mineral Sciences aim to nurture students for a career that addresses the current and future labour and technological requirements in the Zambian mining industry and the sub-region. A graduate should be able to put scientific and technical knowledge to practical use in the mineral industry or service institution. Female students are encouraged to participate in these programmes, which up to now have been male dominated. The School runs technician programmes in geology, metallurgy, mining, mine ventilation, and small scale mining on request. the school also runs short courses and offers consultancies in:Developing and improving methods of mineral extraction, mineral analysis and processing, geotechnical engineering (soil and rock mechanics, rock dumps and tailings dam inspections etc.), mine planning and ventilation practice, geostatistics and mineral economics, water quality and wastewater testing, EMS’ and Auditing, EIA, EPBs, EMPs, EHS, environmental pollution monitoring, spatial modelling, mapping, GPS, GIS, and mine surveys etc.